Hybrid Cars in India
MG Hector Tomahawk exterior
SUV · On Sale

MG Hector Tomahawk

By MG Motor

₹19.49 – 27.79 Lakh (ex-showroom)

The MG Hector Tomahawk brings India's first mainstream PHEV SUV alongside a 517 km-range EV on a single platform, offering buyers a genuine choice between plug-in hybrid flexibility and full electric motoring in a three-row package from ₹19.49 lakh.

Key specs

Fuel typeElectric (EV) / Petrol + Electric (PHEV)
Hybrid systemPlug-in hybrid (PHEV) — 1.5-litre petrol + Dedicated Hybrid Transmission (DHT) + 20.5 kWh battery, 115+ km EV-only range; four drive modes: Pure Electric, Series Hybrid, Parallel Hybrid, Engine Direct Drive
Mileage (claimed)EV: 517 km certified MIDC range | PHEV: 115+ km pure electric range, 1,100+ km combined range, ~40 kpl claimed equivalent
EngineEV: 69.2 kWh LFP battery, 150 kW / 204 hp PMSM, 310 Nm | PHEV: 1.5-litre naturally aspirated petrol + 148 kW electric motor, 20.5 kWh battery
Power & torqueEV: 150 kW (204 hp), 310 Nm | PHEV: 148 kW electric motor
TransmissionEV: Single-speed reduction gear | PHEV: Dedicated Hybrid Transmission (DHT) with electromagnetic clutch (0.1-second mode switching)
DrivetrainFWD
Seating5-seater and 7-seater (EV); 7-seater only (PHEV)
Boot space610 litres (5-seat EV variant)
Ground clearance230 mm (at battery)

The MG Hector Tomahawk is JSW MG Motor India's most ambitious SUV yet, launched in August 2026 on the company's new ADAPT (Advance Drive Architecture Platform Technology) platform — India's first multi-NEV architecture supporting EV, PHEV, HEV and REEV powertrains on a single underpinning. Prices for the EV start at ₹19.49 lakh (ex-showroom), while the Plug-in Hybrid (PHEV) starts at ₹25.69 lakh. Under the Battery-as-a-Service (BaaS) model, the EV entry price drops to ₹13.99 lakh + ₹4.90/km battery rental, and the PHEV to ₹21.79 lakh + ₹3.20/km. The EV claims a certified MIDC range of 517 km on a single charge, while the PHEV offers 115+ km of pure electric range and a combined total range of 1,100+ km.

The Hector Tomahawk is available in two distinct powertrain flavours. The EV uses a 69.2 kWh LFP battery paired with a 150 kW (204 hp) permanent-magnet synchronous motor producing 310 Nm, with support for up to 90 kW DC fast charging and India-first V2H (vehicle-to-home) bidirectional charging. The PHEV combines a 1.5-litre petrol engine with a Dedicated Hybrid Transmission (DHT) and a 20.5 kWh battery, driven by a 148 kW electric motor, with MG claiming around 40 kpl equivalent efficiency and a 0–100 km/h time of approximately 9 seconds. The PHEV is claimed to be India's first mainstream plug-in hybrid SUV.

The SUV measures 4,745 mm in length with a 2,810 mm wheelbase, and is offered in 5-seater and 7-seater configurations for the EV, and 7-seater only for the PHEV. EV deliveries began in September 2026, with PHEV deliveries scheduled from November 2026. The Hector Tomahawk competes primarily with the Mahindra XEV 9S, Kia Carens Clavis EV, and the Kia Sorento Hybrid in the electrified SUV space.

How the hybrid system works

The MG Hector Tomahawk PHEV uses a Dedicated Hybrid Transmission (DHT) that integrates a 1.5-litre naturally aspirated petrol engine with a 148 kW electric motor and a 20.5 kWh battery pack. Unlike a conventional parallel hybrid, the DHT's electromagnetic clutch can switch between four distinct drive modes — Pure Electric, Series Hybrid, Parallel Hybrid and Engine Direct Drive — in just 0.1 seconds, allowing the car to optimise efficiency across city and highway conditions seamlessly.

In Pure Electric mode, the PHEV runs entirely on its 20.5 kWh battery for 115+ km, making it ideal for daily urban commutes without burning a drop of petrol. In Series Hybrid mode, the petrol engine acts as a generator to charge the battery while the electric motor drives the wheels. Parallel Hybrid and Engine Direct Drive modes engage the petrol engine more directly for sustained highway cruising. MG claims the motor control unit achieves 99.1% efficiency, which contributes to the PHEV's claimed ~40 kpl equivalent fuel efficiency.

The EV variant takes a simpler approach: a 69.2 kWh LFP (lithium iron phosphate) battery feeds a permanent-magnet synchronous motor producing 150 kW and 310 Nm. LFP chemistry is chosen for its thermal stability and longevity. The EV supports up to 90 kW DC fast charging via a CCS2 port, and also offers 7.4 kW AC charging (10–100% in approximately 12.5 hours). Uniquely, the Tomahawk EV is claimed to be India's first vehicle with V2H (vehicle-to-home) bidirectional charging, alongside V2L and V2V capabilities.

Mileage and running cost

The EV's certified MIDC range of 517 km is among the highest in its price bracket for a three-row SUV. The PHEV's 115+ km pure electric range means most buyers with home or office charging will rarely need to use petrol for weekday driving. When the battery is depleted, the combined petrol + electric range exceeds 1,100 km on a full tank, making long highway trips stress-free.

MG's BaaS (Battery as a Service) pricing model significantly reduces the upfront cost. The EV starts at ₹13.99 lakh under BaaS (versus ₹19.49 lakh outright), with a ₹4.90/km battery rental. The PHEV BaaS price starts at ₹21.79 lakh + ₹3.20/km. For buyers covering 1,000–1,500 km per month, the per-km rental adds ₹4,900–₹7,350/month for the EV, so the calculus depends heavily on usage. MG also offers an Assured Buyback Plan, guaranteeing a residual value when upgrading or returning the vehicle, which reduces ownership risk.

The first owner of both powertrain versions receives a lifetime battery warranty, which is a meaningful differentiator given concerns about long-term battery degradation in EVs and PHEVs.

Performance and drive

The EV's 150 kW motor and 310 Nm of instant torque deliver a claimed 0–100 km/h time of 8.2 seconds — brisk for a three-row family SUV. The PHEV's 148 kW electric motor achieves a similar 0–100 km/h sprint in approximately 9 seconds, despite the added weight of the petrol engine and DHT. Both figures are competitive in the segment.

The PHEV's four drive modes give it a versatility edge over a pure EV on long road trips. The electromagnetic clutch's 0.1-second switching time means transitions between modes are imperceptible in normal driving. The ADAPT platform's architecture is designed for structural rigidity, which should translate to a composed, planted ride — though independent road tests are yet to be published at the time of writing.

The SUV's 230 mm ground clearance (at battery) is adequate for Indian road conditions, and the 2,810 mm wheelbase — long for the segment — promises a stable, comfortable highway ride. The 4,745 mm body length puts it firmly in the full-size SUV category.

Cabin, space, and tech

The Hector Tomahawk's interior is anchored by a 15.6-inch HD touchscreen running MG's i-SMART 3.0 connected platform with 80+ features, paired with an 8.8-inch digital driver's display (Times of India reports an 8.0-inch unit; Autocar India specifies 8.8 inches). The system supports wireless Apple CarPlay and Android Auto, a GenAI-powered voice assistant understanding 30+ Hinglish commands, i-SWIPE gesture controls, and a Digital Bluetooth Key with key-sharing. MG also claims India's first in-car GenAI karaoke feature.

The 5-seat EV variant offers 610 litres of boot space — generous for the class. The second row gets 60:40 split-folding with recline and slide, while the 7-seat version uses a tip-and-tumble mechanism for third-row access. Other comfort features include a dual-pane panoramic sunroof, a 10-speaker Infinity sound system, 256-colour ambient lighting, rear window sunshades, PM2.5 air filtration and dual B-pillar coat hooks. Multiple cabin modes — Nap, Camp, Energise, Pro Pet, Valet and Quiet — add lifestyle versatility.

Connectivity extends to 18 integrated apps, over-the-air (OTA) software updates and 24×7 battery health monitoring via a BMS with millivolt-level precision. The platform's REEV (range-extended EV) capability is listed as a future option, suggesting the Tomahawk's architecture has room to grow.

Safety and ADAS

The Hector Tomahawk is built on the ADAPT platform, which MG says meets global safety standards and has undergone military-grade validation: 2,000+ bench tests and 490+ vehicle validations across extreme environmental conditions. The battery architecture features ultra-high-strength construction for superior crash protection, and the 24×7 BMS monitors battery health continuously.

The SUV is equipped with Level 2 ADAS, as confirmed by Times of India and Fortune India. MG has not yet disclosed the full ADAS feature list. An official NCAP rating has not been certified at launch; MG states it will be shared once available. The lifetime battery warranty for the first owner also provides a degree of long-term safety assurance for the high-voltage system.

Variants and pricing

The Hector Tomahawk EV is offered in four variants: Excite 7S (₹19.49 lakh), Exclusive 7S (₹21.99 lakh), Essence 5S (₹22.99 lakh) and Essence 7S (₹23.49 lakh). The PHEV is available in two variants: Exclusive 7S (₹25.69 lakh) and Essence 7S (₹27.79 lakh). All prices are ex-showroom and introductory, applicable to limited bookings.

Under BaaS, the EV starts at ₹13.99 lakh + ₹4.90/km and the PHEV at ₹21.79 lakh + ₹3.20/km. MG has not disclosed variant-wise BaaS prices. EV deliveries commenced in September 2026; PHEV deliveries begin November 2026. The Assured Buyback Plan is available across variants.

How it compares

The Hector Tomahawk EV's closest rivals are the Mahindra XEV 9S and Kia Carens Clavis EV in the three-row electric SUV space. The Tomahawk EV's 517 km MIDC range and V2H capability are segment-leading features, while its BaaS entry price of ₹13.99 lakh undercuts most rivals significantly on upfront cost. The 5-seat Essence EV also competes with the Tata Harrier EV and Mahindra XEV 9e.

On the PHEV side, the Hector Tomahawk PHEV is positioned as India's first mainstream plug-in hybrid SUV, with the Kia Sorento Hybrid and Toyota Innova Hycross Hybrid as the nearest alternatives — though neither offers a plug-in powertrain. The Tomahawk PHEV's 115+ km EV-only range and 1,100+ km combined range give it a practical advantage over strong hybrids that cannot be plugged in. Its starting price of ₹25.69 lakh is competitive for a PHEV 7-seater.

Who should buy it

The MG Hector Tomahawk PHEV is the ideal choice for buyers who want a 7-seat family SUV with the running costs of an EV for daily city use, but the reassurance of a petrol engine for long highway trips — without range anxiety. If you cover under 100 km daily and have home charging, the PHEV's petrol engine may rarely be needed. The BaaS model suits buyers who want to minimise upfront outlay.

The EV variant suits urban and semi-urban families who have reliable charging infrastructure and want a zero-emission 3-row SUV with a class-leading 517 km range. The V2H feature adds genuine utility for households in areas with power cuts. Buyers who prioritise the lowest possible entry price should consider the BaaS Excite 7S EV at ₹13.99 lakh, accepting the per-km battery rental cost.

Safety & ADAS

AirbagsNot disclosed at launch
ADAS levelLevel 2 ADAS
NotesNCAP rating not yet certified; MG states it will be shared once available. Built on ADAPT platform with global safety standards and military-grade validation (2,000+ bench tests, 490+ vehicle validations). 24×7 BMS with millivolt-level precision monitoring. Ultra-high-strength battery architecture for crash protection.

Verdict

Best for: Families wanting a 7-seat plug-in hybrid or long-range EV SUV with low running costs, home-charging capability and flexible ownership via BaaS

What we like

  • 517 km certified MIDC range (EV) is class-leading for a 3-row SUV at this price
  • PHEV's 115+ km EV-only range means most daily commutes run on electricity alone
  • India's first V2H bidirectional charging turns the car into a home power backup
  • BaaS entry price of ₹13.99 lakh (EV) is significantly lower than outright rivals
  • Lifetime battery warranty for first owner reduces long-term ownership risk

What to know

  • PHEV available only as 7-seater; no 5-seat PHEV option for buyers who don't need the third row
  • BaaS per-km battery rental (₹4.90/km EV, ₹3.20/km PHEV) can add up for high-mileage users, making outright purchase more economical above ~1,500 km/month
  • No NCAP safety rating at launch; crash-test performance is unverified
  • ADAS feature list not fully disclosed; Level 2 capability details remain vague at launch

Variants

VariantPriceMileageNotable
Excite 7S (EV)₹19.49 Lakh (ex-showroom); BaaS: ₹13.99 Lakh + ₹4.90/km517 km certified MIDC rangeEntry EV, 7-seater
Exclusive 7S (EV)₹21.99 Lakh (ex-showroom); BaaS: ₹15.99 Lakh + ₹4.90/km517 km certified MIDC rangeMid EV, 7-seater
Essence 5S (EV)₹22.99 Lakh (ex-showroom); BaaS: ₹16.99 Lakh + ₹4.90/km517 km certified MIDC rangeTop EV, 5-seater, 610 L boot
Essence 7S (EV)₹23.49 Lakh (ex-showroom); BaaS: ₹17.49 Lakh + ₹4.90/km517 km certified MIDC rangeTop EV, 7-seater
Exclusive 7S (PHEV)₹25.69 Lakh (ex-showroom); BaaS: ₹21.79 Lakh + ₹3.20/km115+ km pure electric; 1,100+ km combinedEntry PHEV, 7-seater, deliveries from November 2026
Essence 7S (PHEV)₹27.79 Lakh (ex-showroom)115+ km pure electric; 1,100+ km combinedTop PHEV, 7-seater, ~40 kpl claimed equivalent

Key features

  • India's first multi-NEV platform (MG ADAPT) — supports EV, PHEV, HEV and REEV powertrains
  • 517 km certified MIDC range (EV variant, 69.2 kWh LFP battery)
  • PHEV: 115+ km pure electric range and 1,100+ km combined range with ~40 kpl claimed efficiency
  • India's first V2H (vehicle-to-home) bidirectional charging capability
  • Level 2 ADAS, i-SMART 3.0 with 80+ connected features and GenAI voice assistant (30+ Hinglish commands)
  • Military-grade battery validation: 2,000+ bench tests, 490+ vehicle validations
  • BaaS (Battery as a Service) pricing from ₹13.99 lakh + ₹4.90/km; Assured Buyback Plan and lifetime battery warranty for first owner

Competitors

Latest news

FAQs

What is the price of the MG Hector Tomahawk?

The MG Hector Tomahawk EV starts at ₹19.49 lakh (ex-showroom) and goes up to ₹23.49 lakh. The PHEV starts at ₹25.69 lakh and tops out at ₹27.79 lakh. Under the Battery-as-a-Service (BaaS) model, the EV entry price drops to ₹13.99 lakh + ₹4.90/km battery rental, and the PHEV to ₹21.79 lakh + ₹3.20/km. These are introductory prices applicable to limited bookings.

What is the real-world mileage of the MG Hector Tomahawk?

The EV variant has a certified MIDC range of 517 km on a full charge. The PHEV claims 115+ km of pure electric range and a combined range of 1,100+ km on a full charge and full tank, with an equivalent efficiency of approximately 40 kpl. Independent real-world test data is not yet available as the car launched in August 2026.

Is the MG Hector Tomahawk a strong hybrid, mild hybrid or plug-in hybrid?

The MG Hector Tomahawk PHEV is a Plug-in Hybrid Electric Vehicle (PHEV) — it can be charged from an external power source and offers 115+ km of pure electric driving. The EV variant is a full battery electric vehicle. MG's ADAPT platform also supports HEV (self-charging hybrid) variants, but the models currently on sale are the EV and PHEV only.

Can the MG Hector Tomahawk drive on electric power alone?

Yes. The PHEV variant can drive in Pure Electric mode for 115+ km on its 20.5 kWh battery before the petrol engine engages. The EV variant runs entirely on electric power with a 517 km certified range. The PHEV also supports Series Hybrid, Parallel Hybrid and Engine Direct Drive modes for longer journeys.

Is the MG Hector Tomahawk worth buying?

For buyers who want a 7-seat electrified SUV with genuine plug-in capability, the Hector Tomahawk PHEV is India's first mainstream option in the segment, starting at ₹25.69 lakh. The EV's 517 km range and V2H charging are class-leading at ₹19.49 lakh. The BaaS model lowers the entry barrier significantly, though high-mileage users should calculate whether the per-km rental makes outright purchase more economical.

Is the MG Hector Tomahawk safe?

The Hector Tomahawk is built on MG's ADAPT platform, which has undergone military-grade validation including 2,000+ bench tests and 490+ vehicle validations in extreme conditions. It comes with Level 2 ADAS and a 24×7 battery management system. However, an official NCAP crash-test rating has not been certified at launch; MG says it will be shared once available.

What is the charging time for the MG Hector Tomahawk EV?

The Hector Tomahawk EV supports up to 90 kW DC fast charging via a CCS2 port. On AC, it supports 7.4 kW charging, with a 10–100% charge time of approximately 12.5 hours. It also features V2H, V2L and V2V bidirectional charging — the V2H function is claimed to be a first for any vehicle in India.

What are the dimensions of the MG Hector Tomahawk?

The MG Hector Tomahawk measures 4,745 mm in length, 1,850 mm in width and 1,770 mm in height, with a 2,810 mm wheelbase. Ground clearance at the battery is 230 mm. The 5-seat EV variant offers 610 litres of boot space.

Sources

All modelsUpdated 2026-09-10